One Club Creative Boot Camp

So, another boot camp has gone by. I wanted to write about this experience because I knew this would be my last one. As a participant, who knows maybe I’ll be a mentor someday. This isn’t a summary of what went down each day but rather the overall experience. Compared to the other two, this one stands out on its own due to the creative process, my teammates, and what I walked away with at the end of it.

A quick synopsis of what was asked of us. The client was Truth, the deliverable was an activation, and our target were young adults between the age 15 and 21. Won’t go into detail about my particular campaign because that’s not what’s important. What is significant is that I relearned firsthand what it felt to go through the creative process for myself. It was a valuable experience because it’s been a while since I’ve pushed myself through a campaign. But what I was challenged with this time was that it wasn’t just me running around in the creative process maze; I had teammates with me that I was leading as well. I made sure that no one was left behind and that we were all respected, listened to, and encouraged. What’s funny is that I didn’t feel as if I were leading, because leading designates that others follow wherever I go. But this experience, I felt like a host to a television show, engaging with my guests equally and fairly. I never forced my teammates to follow my decision or used my “authority” to shut down an idea. From start to finish, I facilitated the creative process smoothly.

But this facilitation would not have gone smoothly had it not been for my teammates. I was extremely lucky to have open minded, hard working individuals with a sense of humor. We all came from different backgrounds and educations, yet each one of us had a respectful upbringing and creative knowledge. This team dynamic was one of a kind and special. When there were disagreements, each would explain their reason why they disagreed with something instead of basing their rational on emotion. The same would occur when we would concur with an idea. True, not everything needs to be explained, but as humans, understanding is key to acceptance so this trait from my team was a blessing. Another massive quality that I was thankful for was that no one was a complainer. There was no whining, crying, or pouting whatsoever and that led to a positive and collaborative environment, which enabled each of us to perform at the zenith of our abilities. I could not be more proud of this team.

The day to present came. We went, we delivered, and we lost. Well, technically there are no “losers” but we didn’t place. Regardless, I left the Boot Camp very content with myself. From day one, I gave it my all during our time together and afterwards pushed myself every night before I went to sleep. Even though we did not have our idea until our last day, I stayed calm. Anywhere that I saw could use my help I went and supported. I facilitated and contributed. I listened and spoke. I agreed and disagreed. We may not have placed, but I sure as hell won. I left the boot camp with confidence in my abilities, a rekindled desire to pursue this career, and an unforgettable experience. Thank you 72&Sunny, the One Club, and my team, group 5 aka Golden Toa5t.

Leave a comment